.NET Data Entry Form to Add New Record RRS feed

• Question

• User-179998394 posted

I am looking for some help with a data entry screen I've built. The form will be used to add new records to an existing DB. With the form already built, I'm looking for some help with the code I need to commit (insert) the values from the form to the DB. The DB is SQL SERVER.

I am currently using Web Forms with Entity Framework to build the app and I want the data entry form to be available from a link on the default page. I've looked at GridView and FormView as options, but they don't meet my needs. Admittedly I am new with asp.net, c# and EntityFramework so I may not know how to best manipulate those views.

Can someone tell me the code I would need to use the form to add new records to the database?

I'm also open to suggestions of any easier/better methods.

Thursday, May 30, 2019 10:13 PM

Answers

• User-1038772411 posted

Hii eldonlhale,

Here Based on your description, I have no idea about your data entry screen fields or UI . But here i will suggest you some references with form examples to reach at your milestones. I hope this will help you. 

Please refer the following links

1) https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/aspnet/web-pages/overview/getting-started/introducing-aspnet-web-pages-2/entering-data
    2) https://stackoverflow.com/questions/4762381/asp-net-using-a-form-to-insert-data-into-an-sql-server-table
    3) https://www.c-sharpcorner.com/UploadFile/009464/insert-data-into-database-using-Asp-Net-C-Sharp-and-stored-proced/

Thank you

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Friday, May 31, 2019 5:53 AM
  • User665608656 posted

Hi eldonlhale,

According to your description, I suggest that you display the original data in the gridview, and add a FooterTemplate to the last column of data in the GridView to put the link on the default page.