none
Football Pool with Excel RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

Super novice here. I have been reading about VBA and the benefits it provides using it to code certain aspect with Macros inside excel 2010. With all that's out there I do not know where to start. I'm looking to simplify my spreadsheet to auto format cells when certain criteria are met. Any information or examples would be greatly appreciated. Atleast a good place to start and I can trial and error. Heck I don't even know if VBA is the best option.

We have roughly 7-10 players.

The teams have a spread as set forth my vegas odds

The players guess which team will either cover the spread or not. Ex. GB @ DAL 5    Dallas is favored by 5. They need to beat GB by 6 to cover.

If the player chooses DAL AND Dallas covers the spread the DAL cell needs to be highlighted in yellow AND the players who selected the GB, the GB cell needs a diagonal line thru it.

Of coarse this is visa versa. So if GB wins or loses by 5 or less, then GB's cell highlights yellow and DAL cell is crossed thru.

I hope that makes sense. Then I need the cells to add the number of yellow (win) cells and total at bottom. But that is waay later LOL.

Thanks in advance!

Wednesday, January 11, 2017 6:22 PM

Answers

• Sorry - CF is Conditional Formatting.  Here is a page with instructions for using formulas with CF:

https://exceljet.net/conditional-formatting-with-formulas

• Marked as answer by Martsman Thursday, January 12, 2017 3:18 PM
    Wednesday, January 11, 2017 9:56 PM
  • Select J4:Q12, and use CF for yellow with the formula

=OR(AND(J4=$D4,$C4>$G4+$B4),AND(J4=$F4,$C4<=$G4+$B4))

And then use CF for the cross out with the formula

=OR(AND(J4=$D4,$C4<=$G4+$B4),AND(J4=$F4,$C4>$G4+$B4))

You may need to play with the <= and > because I'm not sure of your logic for when the spread creates a tie.

Thursday, January 12, 2017 7:14 PM
  • I think this should do it: