Moving to SQL Server 2005 RRS feed

• Question

• I have some books on order so hopefully my immediate questions will be answered shortly without too much help from others here.

I have lots of experience developing/using SQL Server 2000, so I thought taking up SQL Server 2005 wouldn't be too much of a mind shift. How wrong could I be?

My initial experience of SQL Server 2005 is not particularly positive because I seem to be struggling to get off first base. I had expected to see an updated copy of the Enterprise Manager that I was familiar with in SQL Server 2000, but no such thing seems to exist for SQL Server 2005 on my development PC (or at least, I can't find it if it is there).

I have installed betas of Visual Studio 2005 and SQL Server 2005. I managed to knock together a quick project in VS2005 which (apparently) connects okay to my local SQL Server instance. But after that I'm a bit stuck.

What I was expecting/hoping to see was an Enterprise Manager style application where databases were accessed and configured via a collapsible tree. No such luck. I'm probably missing something obvious.

I have access to two applications on my Programs menu - SQL Configuration Manager and also SQL Server Surface Area Configuration. These seem to be what I might reasonably expect from reading the help documentation. But I can't see any Enterprise Manager type of user interface.

Am I looking in the right place? What I want to do is create a simple database with a couple of tables. From there I think I should be able to get going. I have been trained on .NET version 1, and the version 2 interface looks broadly familiar so I'm not really stuck with the .NET version 2 interface - I'm just missing the bit relating to setting up and configuring a SQL Server 2005 database.

Help?
    Friday, September 16, 2005 10:27 AM

Answers