Architecture of WCF application???? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,
         I am developing WCF windows application which is going to be stand alone application......

i have designed the architecture like this.

Main application--------------output willl windows application.
    Client application------------output will be class lib project..which will have all UI design and forms n all.
    ControlLib---------------------Containing all the controls and user controls.
    WCF service application-----Here all the services....

Now i would like to know where should i keep the DataAccess layer class which will contain connection string etc n all????

i believe business logic will be implemented in services....

So should i keep the Data access layer class in WCF service application???? make that also service????

Basically i am new to WCF and i am trying to learn WCF through real time development...

So plz guide me how to go about it???

Thanks...
    Friday, June 12, 2009 5:26 AM

All replies

• The projects you mentioned, other than WCF Service Application, seems Presentation layer projects.

Here is the detail how it can be designed on server side:

1. Interfaces Layer (This project will have all the service contracts. Only interfaces)
    2. Data Entity Layer (Here you can create your own custom data entities, data contracts, OR use Entity Framework)
    3. Facade Layer (Implement Service Contracts and delegates calls to Business Objects Layer)
    4. ServiceHost Layer (can be window service)
    5. Business Objects Layer (Here you can put all the business logic)
    6. Data Access Layer (Database interaction code comes here)

Thanks.
    Friday, June 12, 2009 3:08 PM
  • Hi Attiq.

Thanks for your suggestion..I need one favor if it is possible for you. Can you just make one small project with one form and one text and combox and button????