I need Help Getting publishing my website. RRS feed

• Question

• User-1825059547 posted

I am new at using Visual Web Developer Express (C#).  I understand how to create a website and to test it on my local computer, but I am having trouble understanding what is needed for to publish to website.

1.  I have a test website called www.weddingdayplanner.net that I am using to test my VWD website.  It is being hosted by www.1and1.net .  I it a business package with one SQL database included.  The business package supports ASP.NET 2 but does not offer direct support for VWD Expresses templates (Personal or Club, etc...).  My first question is?  Can I use www.1and1.net to publish my VWD website or should I look for a provider that offers direct support for VWD templates?

2.  I have uploaded my webpages to the www.weddingdayplanner.net for testing, and I have uploaded the aspnetdb.mdf to the db_database folder.  I get the following error message.

Line 10:       </connectionStrings>-->
    Line 11:       
    Line 12:       <connectionStrings> 
    Line 13:       <add name="LocalSqlServer" connectionString="data source='mssql08.1and1.com';User ID='dboxxxxxxxxx';Password=xxxxxxxxx;database='zzzzzzzzz'" />
    Line 14:       </connectionStrings>

The following is my web.config file.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<configuration xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/.NetConfiguration/v2.0">

<system.web>

<customErrors mode="Off"/>

<!--<connectionStrings>

<add name="LocalSqlServer"

connectionString="data source=.\SQLEXPRESS;Integrated Security=SSPI;AttachDBFilename=|DataDirectory|aspnetdb.mdf;User Instance=true"

providerName="System.Data.SqlClient"/>

</connectionStrings>-->

<connectionStrings>

<add name="LocalSqlServer"

connectionString="data source='mssql08.1and1.com';User ID='dboxxxxxxxxx';Password=xxxxxxxxx;database='dbxxxxxxxxx'" />

</connectionStrings>

<roleManager enabled="true" />

<authentication mode="Forms" />

<membership>

<providers>