none
Payroll tax calculation RRS feed

• Question

•    
    Please someone help me in doing the following Payroll tax calculation. 
    What I need is a VBA code for MS Access 2013.
    I am a complete novice and would appreciate if the code is copy and paste.
    Thanks in advance for any help or suggestion.
    SALARY RANGE  TAX RATE  EXEMPTIONS
     $0 - $600  0% 0
     $601 - $1650  10% 150
     $1651 - $3200  15% 200
     $3201 - $5250  20% 350
    $5251 - $7800 25% 500
     $7801 - $10900  30% 1000
     $10901 - ABOVE  35% 1500

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 8:44 AM

Answers

• Hi,

You could use Select...Case Statement (Visual Basic) to calculate how may tax should be, then return the result.

E.g.

A form with salary field and cal field. Use the following code to update the cal field.

Private Sub salary_AfterUpdate()
    Dim sal As Integer
    Dim tax As Integer
    sal = salary.Value
    Select Case sal
    Case 0 To 600
    tax = 0
    Case 601 To 1650
    tax = (sal - 600) * 0.1
    Case 1651 To 3200
    tax = (sal - 1650) * 0.15 + 150
    End Select
    cal.Value = sal - tax
    End Sub

Regards,

Celeste

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

• Marked as answer by Fisherboy Monday, February 13, 2017 12:30 PM
    Friday, February 10, 2017 8:15 AM

All replies

• Can you post more details?

Normally I would use a table to define the salaray range and the tax rate and exemption. Then you can use for example DLookup() to get the necessary value(s).

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 9:05 AM
  • Hi,

What is your expected result?

I would suggest you add a calculated field to calculate expressions.

Please visit Add a calculated field to a table  & Create an expression 

Regards,