none
Unable to install instalshield for Visual Basic Studio 2012 express for desktop

Question

• Hello, I'm new in programming in visual baic studio.

I create a software using visual basic studio 2012 express for desktop (vb code).
    In software there is no other deployment such as Installshield from which I can
    publish my software as a .exe file.

So I download Installshield from vendor website, but when I want to install it, it shows
    "Please install Visual basic studio professional 2012 / 13 / 15..."

How can I setup installshield to my visual basic studio 2012 express for desktop?

I installed Inno setup complier, and now I can create .exe file. But it has a security
    problem. My software had attached a access file. When I installed my software
    made from inno complier, access file show up in C drive, within the software folder.
    And my client or I can run that access file and can modified it.

Please help me to solve this problem. I can't find solution from google or msdn website.
    • Moved by qing__Moderator Thursday, February 16, 2017 2:35 AM related to general
    Wednesday, February 15, 2017 5:49 PM

Answers

• Hi Rationalistp,

Welcome to the MSND forum.

>> How can I setup installshield to my visual basic studio 2012 express for desktop?

As far as I know, the installshield not support the VS 2012 express for desktop. Please have a look at: Download InstallShield Limited Edition for Visual Studio and we can find the following message:

InstallShield Limited Edition for Visual Studio supports the following Visual Studio editions:

• Professional/Premium/Enterprise/Ultimate

*Visual Studio Community Edition is not supported.

Since the express version is not match the requirement and I also checked some different VS versions like Professional/Enterprise/Ultimate on my side and the above message looks correctly like the following screenshot: