none
Excel 2016 erroneously records my macros RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys, please help. I am new in VBA macro excel. I am using Excel 2016. I am practicing how to record a macro.
    My problem is when I use the macro recorder, it doesn't work and records wrongly.
    For example, even if I just record to type Test in cell A1, it does it wrongly. 
    It inserts wrong codes, as shown below:

Sub Macro1()
    ' Macro1 Macro
    ' Type Test in cell A1
    ' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+Shift+A
    '
        .Rotation = "Test"
    End Sub

I get this ".Rotation" 

Sometimes, in other instances, I get "Delete" codes when I didn't delete any cells.

Please HELP.
    Bob

Sunday, November 12, 2017 4:16 AM

All replies

• Hi baybobjr,

It sounds strange.
    I started the macro recorder, input "Test1" in cell A1, and stop recorder.
    In Module1, I see the below code.  (I am using Excel 2016, 32-bit)
    Sub Macro1()
    '
    ' Macro1 Macro
    '

'
        ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "Test"
        Range("A2").Select
    End Sub
    If your Excel does not work fine, please repair it.
    Refer to the following articel:
    Repair an Office application
    https://support.office.com/en-us/article/Repair-an-Office-application-7821d4b6-7c1d-4205-aa0e-a6b40c5bb88b

Regards,

Ashidacchi

Sunday, November 12, 2017 4:33 AM
  • Hi Bob,

Thanks for visiting our forum.

Then here we mainly focus on general issues about Excel clients. Since your query is related to recording macros in Excel, I'll move your thread to the following dedicated MSDN forum for Excel:

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/home?forum=exceldev

The reason why we recommend posting appropriately is you will get the most qualified pool of respondents, and other partners who read the forums regularly can either share their knowledge or learn from your interaction with us. Thank you for your understanding.

Best regards,
    Yuki Sun

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they helped.