New to ASP.NET - First Deploy RRS feed

• Question

• User1909839761 posted

Hi,

I'm new to ASP.NET and have spent the last few months learning it and developing a web site. It is time now to publish that web site and access it from the real world to continue testing. However, when I try to access the site I just get a "500" error. I'm pretty sure it's a configuration or missing file/dll thing but have no idea where to start looking. I'm hoping to get some ideas here.

1. I think I started the project as a Web Site and not a Web Application. I do have a "Convert to Web Application" option in the context menu for the site. I also have a .csproj file in the root folder. I think that changes how I publish somehow.
    2. I am using the Publish option and publishing to a directory on my local drive which I then copy to the IIS server.
    3. I have all my classes in a "classes" folder which does not appear to get published. However, I do get a "bin" directory which contains a DLL for the site which is smaller than all the files uncompiled. I am assuming that the classes folder and all the code behind files are compiled into that DLL?
    4. I am using Developer Express components and see that I get no DLL's output for them. Per their instruction I have copied 3 of their DLL's into the "bin" folder. I don't know if I'm supposed to register them or something too?
    5. Once on the IIS server, I have converted the "bin" folder to an application - I have no idea if this is needed but remember back in my ISAPI.DLL days I had to mark a folder as executable to allow the DLL's to run.

The IIS server is version 8 (point something) and running on Windows Server 2012. I have done no configuration of the server or IIS (I don't think - someone else actually set it up). Is there any thing I need to do with IIS to make it run an ASP.NET site?

Thanks in advance for any advice or direction,

Mike

Wednesday, January 16, 2013 8:54 AM

Answers

• User1909839761 posted