none
GENERAL QUESTION: ATL/COM vs C++/CLI for building Office Add-Ins RRS feed

• Question

• I have a lot of experience writing Add-ins using ATL/COM.  However, that was under 2010 and earlier releases of Office.

How does writing an Office Add-In using Managed C++ compare with using ATL/COM C++?

I'm currently researching a project that doesn't seem to require any .NET; just accessing and manipulating the COM objects in Outlook (e.g. Appointments, Meetings, MailItems).

I'm looking for responses based on practical experience instead of theoretical answers based on articles.

(Note:  C# will not be used)

• Edited by GermanEZI Tuesday, September 5, 2017 2:58 AM Clarification
    Tuesday, September 5, 2017 1:54 AM

Answers

• This thread is beginning to drift a bit from my original question.

I'll just go ahead with ATL/COM C++  since I don't see any objections to it in here.
    • Marked as answer by GermanEZI Wednesday, September 13, 2017 7:44 PM
    Wednesday, September 13, 2017 7:44 PM

All replies

• Just out of curiosity, if unmanaged C++ is not an option, why did you decide to use managed C++ instead of C# unless you have tons of existing C++ code that you will need to use in your addin?

Dmitry Streblechenko (MVP)
    http://www.dimastr.com/redemption
    Redemption - what the Outlook
    Object Model should have been
    Version 5.5 is now available!

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 4:15 AM
  • Unmanaged c++ is my Preference.   It's C# that's not the option.
    • Edited by GermanEZI Tuesday, September 5, 2017 5:38 AM clarification
    Tuesday, September 5, 2017 5:37 AM
  • Hi GermánH,

it depends upon your requirement.

you can try to check which one is most suitable for your project.

we don't have any idea about your project.

if you try to post your requirement then we can try to check it and try to provide suggestion based on that.

Regards

Deepak

MSDN Community Support