Error when trying to save image file in a blob column RRS feed

• Question

• User-2060727494 posted

I have this SQL code:

USE [myDB]
    INSERT INTO FWImage ([FWImageFile])
    SELECT 'SQL Server File'
    FROM OPENROWSET(BULK N'C:\Users\Bob\Downloads\Pictures\logo.gif', SINGLE_BLOB) image;

But I get this error when I try to run it:

Msg 4834, Level 16, State 1, Line 4
    You do not have permission to use the bulk load statement.

I'm not a SQL DBA as I am a developer so I'm not real strong in this area.  So I opened SSMS and connected to my SQL server.  I then clicked Security, Logins.  I then right-clicked my SQL username and clicked Properties.  Next, I clicked Server Roles and clicked the checkbox for bulkadmin.  But I got this error:

TITLE: Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio
    ------------------------------

Add member failed for ServerRole 'bulkadmin'. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdName=Microsoft+SQL+Server&ProdVer=12.0.4100.1+((SQL14_PCU_main).150420-1653)&EvtSrc=Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.ExceptionTemplates.FailedOperationExceptionText&EvtID=Add+member+ServerRole&LinkId=20476

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

An exception occurred while executing a Transact-SQL statement or batch. (Microsoft.SqlServer.ConnectionInfo)

Cannot alter the server role 'bulkadmin', because it does not exist or you do not have permission. (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 15151)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdName=Microsoft%20SQL%20Server&ProdVer=12.00.2000&EvtSrc=MSSQLServer&EvtID=15151&LinkId=20476

BUTTONS:

OK

So what am I doing wrong?  Like I said, I'm not too swift with permissions stuff.

Thursday, March 17, 2016 3:51 PM

Answers

• User364663285 posted

Ok, I moved my image to another disk drive like you suggested.  SO here is my new SQL statement:

USE [myDB];
    SELECT *
    FROM OPENROWSET(BULK N'F:\logo.gif', SINGLE_BLOB) image;

But I still get this error: