Change field in different table on click RRS feed

• Question

• I have a table called "Vehicles" in which there is a Yes/No field that is called "OnLoanStatus" I have a form called "DelWorkOrder" where I track mileage, time, etc. which is entered into the "DelWorkOrder" table. What I want to do is when I save the record into the "DelWorkOrder" table then the "OnLoanStatus" in the "Vehicles" table gets updated to Yes automatically.  I will also have RetWorkOrder that when entered into its own table it changes the "OnLoanStatus" in the "Vehicles" table back to "No"  I have everything working but I cannot figure out how to make this happen.   I do not have a "OnLoanStatus" on the "DelWorkOrder" form but if adding that can make this happen then great.  I have tried a query but cannot seem to get update to value listed.  Any help is appreciated as I am new to access.  Thanks, Troy

Forgot to add that I need this update to only happen to the row containing a specific "ClientVehNum" that is also being entered in the form and is contained in both the "Vehicles" table and the "DelWorkOrder" table.  I hope this makes sense?  :)

• Edited by Kaya4tw Monday, June 23, 2014 4:06 AM
    Monday, June 23, 2014 3:45 AM

Answers

• Hi,

According to your description, you want to update the field "OnLoanStatus" in table "Vehicles" automatically after you enter records to save into the table "DelWorkOrder" in the form "DelWorkOrder".

Since you said "Change field in different table on click" in the title, I suspect you are saving the records into the table "DelWorkOrder" in the click event of a command button. If so, I think you just need to update the field "OnLoanStatus" in table "Vehicles" after inserting records in this click event. Here is a sample for your reference. It searches the records matched the entered value in the TextBox "ClientVehNum" of the form, then update the filed "OnLoanStatus".