dynamic content RRS feed

• Question

• I am fairly new to expression web.

I have inherited a web site using Expression , I am putting in some new functions using asp text box , when I preview I get 'this page may contain dynamic content that requires a web server to be previewed correctly', when the page displays it does not show the text box, but everything else is OK.(the page saves as .aspx)

Could this be the web server or is there something that I've ommitted.

Monday, April 19, 2010 12:49 PM

Answers

• Actually, Jim, not necessarily. It may be supposed to install automatically, and does for many, but it didn't when I installed EW2 originally. IIRC, that was the reason for my very first post to this forum. I followed the instructions in the EW Help file (very easy, BTW, and consider why those instructions are in the Help file ;-).

Anyway, for whatever reason, it didn't install for me, and the installation was a snap following Help.

cheers,
    scott

C'mon, folks. This isn't rocket science, nor neurosurgery. It's "Expression" (singular) "Web" (singular), in that order, followed by a version numeral if you wish to be specific. It is often abbreviated "EW." It is not "Web Expression," "Expressions Web," "Web Expressions," or plain "Expression" or "Expressions." Not using the correct name indicates either ignorance or laziness. Most folks would rather avoid the appearance of either.
    • Marked as answer by juddhill Wednesday, April 28, 2010 5:36 PM
    Monday, April 19, 2010 7:55 PM

All replies

• Do you have the Development Server installed (comes with EW). This server will allow you to view aspx pages on your local box.

Monday, April 19, 2010 1:17 PM
  • No its not installed. Is there a download and if so which version do I need.
    Monday, April 19, 2010 2:55 PM
  • Actually, it is installed. It does that automatically. Go to the menu item Site>Site Settings...>Preview and check the box to use the developmental server.

Jim