none
Efficient C# packaging process RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have to build a manufacture packaging process in C# which will handle pallets, boxes and items through a DbContext which is related to a variable connection string.

I have created a well-working process but if my classes are to change in the future to customize clients needs, I have no way of reusing my current process code but to copy it into the client's application project and make the relevant changes in order to satisfy his needs.  

I am pretty sure this isn't a good strategy because it annoys me pretty much and I am not an expert in C# but I guess that INTERFACES and ABSTRACT and T4TEMPLATES could be of a help for me but don't really know how to implement start up strategy.

I don't mind on the way it is achieve but I'd like to get good programming practices in order to be more accurate in the future projects.

So here we go, I'm showing you my current working process and then I'm going to point the possible changes that may occur in the future.  Keep in mind that this process might change for clients but not for others and that I'd like to be reusable and customizable without the need to recopy the whole classes to satisfy those changes :

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Text;
    using System.Data.Entity;
    using System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations;
    using System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations.Schema;

namespace Whatsoever.Packaging
    {     
        public class Pallet 
        {
            public string pallet_no { get; set; }
            public DateTime pallet_date { get; set; }
            [Key]
            [DatabaseGenerated(DatabaseGeneratedOption.Identity)]
            public decimal id { get; set; } 
        }

public class Box : IContainer, IContainable 
        {