Attempting to access workbook saved property in BeforeClose raises HRESULT 0x8004010A8 error RRS feed

• Question

• I have a Excel add-in and subscribe to the Excel.BeforeClose event handler, as below:

Excel.AppEvents_WorkbookBeforeCloseEventHandler(m_goWorkbook_BeforeClose);

public void m_goWorkbook_BeforeClose(Excel.Workbook toWorkbook, ref bool tbCancel)
    {
    // stuff
    if (toWorkbook.Saved)
    {
    // do something 
    }
    }

the line (toWorkbook.Saved) causes an HRESULT 0x800401A8 error every time.  I can access other properties such as toWorkbook.Name, just not saved.
    Friday, April 27, 2018 10:08 PM

All replies

• Hello kptools,

What application are you developing? Is it an VSTO application?

What's the version of your office? Will this error occur on a Saved workbook or an unsaved workbook? Or both?

If you try to try...catch the error, could you get a detail error message for the issue?

Best Regards,

Terry

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

Saturday, April 28, 2018 2:39 AM
  • It is VSTO for Excel.  I have separately compiled versions for Excel 2007, 2010, 2013, and 2016 and the error is in all and also occurs irrespective of the saved state of the workbook (or if it is new or pre-existing). I do try/catch the error which is 'Exception from HRESULT: 0x800401A' - the call stack trace is from Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel_Workbook.get_Saved().

Saturday, April 28, 2018 6:48 AM
  • Hello kptools,

>>I have separately compiled versions for Excel 2007, 2010, 2013, and 2016 

separately compiled? Did you install multiple version of Office in same computer?