Progress Bar RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All,

I am in the process of writing a program that will install Fonts on windows, as well as run several Batch files to install software as well. I am stumped when it comes to a progress bar. I have been searching for weeks tring to find an answer so i am hopping that some one he can help.

I need to get this program to show the progress of the installs based on which items were selected on the Previous screen. For example, a user can install up to 25 things. If they only select 10 I want it to show the progress of the ten that are selected and two progresses. One for the Item its self and the overall progress of all them Items. Is that possible to do that. By the way i am am runiv VB 2010 Express.

If you can help I would appreciate it. I am an abolute Novice on the Progress bar programming So a walk trough will be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Monday, October 8, 2012 10:44 PM

Answers

• Hi ProfessionalNewbie,

first of all welcome in this forum.

To your question. It is allmost the same procedure.
    Count how many Items are selected for you process.
    Divide this numer by 100 and you'll receice aproxiamtely the procentual size of each item. E.g the user seltec 20 items (100/20 = 5) ech item is 5%. Does the user select only 5 items (100/5 = 20) each item represents 20%

Declare this result a variable type double because  100/6 = 16.666 which ask a double variable.
    Start copying files in a for next or for each loop and increase your progressbar value by this variable.
    Of course there also exist more confortable methods but this should work also fine.

Liebe Grüße Stefan | Cheers Stefan I'm using VB 2008 and VB 2010 Express Be a good forum member - mark posts that contain the answers to your questions or those that are helpful. c# in vb Translator: http://www.developerfusion.com/tools/convert/csharp-to-vb/

Tuesday, October 9, 2012 2:25 PM
  • Hi ProfessionalNewbie,