Upload SQL Database to Server RRS feed

• Question

• User2062246664 posted

Okay, I am still really new at this so nobody laugh if this seems simple stupid. 

I created a little web page and while working on the project created a new database by right clicking on my app and clicking "Add New item" then choosing SQL Database.  I added tables and everything was working just dandy on my machine.  I FTP'd the files up to my web server and am now getting an error.  SQL is installed on the server, but I have a couple of questions.

1. Does SQL have to be installed on the server if you create one of these databases by doing the Add New Item button?

2. After Uploading it to a server with SQL installed, the database shows in my App Data folder, but gives me an error.  What needs done to move this database to the server besides uploading it?

Here is my error:

An error has occurred while establishing a connection to the server.  When connecting to SQL Server 2005, this failure may be caused by the fact that under the default settings 
    SQL Server does not allow remote connections. (provider: SQL Network Interfaces, error: 26 - Error Locating Server/Instance Specified)

Tuesday, September 19, 2006 6:22 AM

Answers

• User2062246664 posted
    Anyone????  Anything???
    • Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Tuesday, September 19, 2006 11:05 AM

All replies

• User2062246664 posted
    Anyone????  Anything???
    • Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Tuesday, September 19, 2006 11:05 AM
  • User1416329745 posted

Try the links below for all you need and it works so read the thread and links carefully don't just click and say it doesnot work.  Post again if you still need help.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/express/sql/compare/default.aspx

http://forums.asp.net/thread/1379211.aspx

Tuesday, September 19, 2006 11:13 AM
  • User2062246664 posted