none
Create MSI for VSTO workbook RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am fairly new to C# and I have a VSTO workbook I have created and I don't want to use the click once. Instead I would prefer to use the MSI installer.

How do I create an MSI installer for a VSTO workbook? I have found a lot of documentation on how to do this for an add-in but not sure if the process is the same?

Can I also install another application at the same time? (I have a windows application that are linked)

Many thanks,

Joe

Wednesday, July 5, 2017 3:43 PM

Answers

• Hi JoeyStyles,

>>because I basically have a custom form that I want to include in the solution but I couldn't figure out how to install a VSTO project and a windows form into the same installation so I just used a MSI to combine them.

Do you have two projects? Do the two projects both work for Excel? Why do you separate the project? We could include a win form as an item in the VSTO project.

You could add a new item -> Windows Form

Then in ThisWorkbook_Startup or ThisAddIn_Startup to create a winform new instance.

E.g.

private void ThisWorkbook_Startup(object sender, System.EventArgs e)

{

Form1 f = new Form1();

f.Visible = true;

}

Besides, please visit the following link to check how to publish multiple projects for clickonce.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms404233(v=vs.80).aspx

Best Regards,

Terry

• Marked as answer by JoeyStyles Tuesday, July 18, 2017 11:38 PM
    Tuesday, July 18, 2017 9:56 AM

All replies

• Hi JoeyStyles,

For deploying VSTO workbook project, you could refer to Deploying an Office Solution by Using Windows Installer. You could install multiple application in one MSI installer. For more question about Windows Installer, I suggest you create thread in ClickOnce and Setup & Deployment Projects.

Best Regards,

Terry

Friday, July 7, 2017 6:27 AM
  • Thanks Terry but I keep getting errors for that link because it's meant for 2012 (I assume).