Planning TSI Environment/Architecture for Plant Feedback Telemetry RRS feed

• Question

• I’m a university student looking to start using the Azure platform in one of my projects namely for plant performance feedback.

The plant will eventually have more sensors added to begin research into autonomous functionality and Industry 4.0 however I’m starting with basic telemetry.   I’m looking to stream data into Azure from an end device with a multitude of sensors using JSON via MQTT into IoT Hub which will then feed into Time Series Insights.

Further analytics will hopefully occur using Power BI alongside the TSI Explorer

If I’m reading the documentation correctly this should work?

The plant goes through a defined process of operations after which some parameters may be changed, and the plant will do another run.

Would TSI be able to split the data up between the different runs of the process? i.e. Configuration A of the plant does several runs, then we make a change to Configuration B to do another several runs.

The process has several different operations and we would like to compare between different configurations across different runs. (Configuration A might make the first 10 operations more efficient vs Configuration B for example)

Some configurations can be fixed for the process run, and other configurations directly affect the process data (maximum velocity for an actuator for example) so some could be stored as metadata?

In an ideal world we hope to be able to change parameters on the plant, input this via a PowerApp that can interface with this architecture (or record as metadata for the process run)

Eventually we would like to start using Machine Learning and Analytics within Azure to help us decide what configuration changes to make to optimise the process (and potentially train the ML/AI required to do autonomous operation)

JSON Example

• Sensor_Array
    • Velocity_Array
    • Temp_Array
    • Position_Array

PowerApp Data Input Example