none
Installing updated found using WUApiLib RRS feed

• Question

• I just started learning C#, and I thought a good way to start was building an assisting tool for Windows.

I created a bunch of function and at the very end I decided to try making a windows update function. So far here is what I got (I created this code by following a guide step by step to learn what I was doing)

using WUApiLib;

private void button6_Click(object sender, EventArgs e) { base.OnLoad(e); UpdateSession uSession = new UpdateSession(); IUpdateSearcher uSearcher = uSession.CreateUpdateSearcher(); uSearcher.Online = true; try { ISearchResult sResult = uSearcher.Search("IsInstalled=1 And IsHidden=0"); textBox1.Text = "Found " + sResult.Updates.Count + " update(s)" + Environment.NewLine; foreach (IUpdate update in sResult.Updates) { textBox1.AppendText(update.Title + Environment.NewLine); } } catch (Exception ex) { Console.WriteLine("We got an error!: " + ex.Message); } }

This is showing any pending updates in the machine, I tried to read more about it but I wasn't able to install the pending update, any help?

Tuesday, January 8, 2019 11:32 AM

Answers

• So you want to install the update?  Use the IUpdateInstaller interface for that. Note that this isn't going to be simple as you're dealing with a somewhat complicated API. If you're just learning to code then I wouldn't recommend going down this route. The documentation is here.

Michael Taylor http://www.michaeltaylorp3.net

• Marked as answer by TheNoobuUser Wednesday, January 9, 2019 8:23 AM
    Tuesday, January 8, 2019 3:07 PM

All replies

• So you want to install the update?  Use the IUpdateInstaller interface for that. Note that this isn't going to be simple as you're dealing with a somewhat complicated API. If you're just learning to code then I wouldn't recommend going down this route. The documentation is here.

Michael Taylor http://www.michaeltaylorp3.net

• Marked as answer by TheNoobuUser Wednesday, January 9, 2019 8:23 AM