Custom Model Validation (IValidatableObject) Not working... RRS feed

• Question

• User-121299044 posted

Hello and thanks for reading.  I'm a newbie, trying to learn .net core.  I was learning how to create a custom validator, not using the Validation Attribute but at the class level. Unfortunately, I can't make this one work, please check my code below:  

public class Blog : IValidatableObject
        {
            public int Id { get; set; }

[Required(ErrorMessage = "Title is required")]
            public string Title { get; set; }
            [Required(ErrorMessage = "Subtitle is required")]
            public string Subtitle { get; set; }

//[
            //    //ValidarEdad,
            //    Required(AllowEmptyStrings = false, ErrorMessage = "Es mandatorio proveer su fecha de Nacimiento."),
            //    Display(Name = "Fecha de Nacimiento:")
            //    , DataType(DataType.DateTime)
            //]
            public DateTime Nacimiento { get; set; }

[Required(ErrorMessage = "Url is required"), Display(Name = "URL del Blog:")]
            public string Url { get; set; }
            public string Description { get; set; }
            public DateTime CreatedAt { get; set; }
            public DateTime ModifiedAt { get; set; }
            public int CreatedBy { get; set; }
            public int ModifiedBy { get; set; }
            public ICollection<Post> Posts { get; set; }

[Required(ErrorMessage = "Author is required, kindly pick one!"), Display(Name ="Autor:")]
            public int? AuthorId { get; set; }
            public User Author { get; set; }

public IEnumerable<ValidationResult> Validate(ValidationContext validationContext)
            {

Debug.Write("----------------------------");
                Debug.Write("TEST TEST TEST");
                Debug.Write("----------------------------");

//Blog myblog = (Blog)validationContext.ObjectInstance;          

//if (Nacimiento > DateTime.Now)
                //{