Bought an ASP.NET website, need help uploading it to server RRS feed

• Question

• User-2117220626 posted

Hi all,

First time poster here. My boss bought an ASP.NET site off flippa.com. But I'm a PHP developer so don't really know much about ASP.

I've managed to set up a Microsoft server and set up the database on there, but i'm having a timeout issue when connecting to the database. I've changed the connection string on the old site to my new credentials.

Any advice would be beneficial. :)

Thanks in advance

Tuesday, October 9, 2018 10:16 AM

Answers

All replies

• User-821857111 posted

Can you give the actual error message?

Tuesday, October 9, 2018 3:52 PM
  • User-271186128 posted

Hi OshJones,

I've managed to set up a Microsoft server and set up the database on there, but i'm having a timeout issue when connecting to the database. I've changed the connection string on the old site to my new credentials.

As Mike said, please post the actual error message or explain more details about your issue (when and where you meet the timeout issue?), it might be easier for us to help you solve the problem.

If you want to set the connection time in the web.config, you can try to modify your connection string as below:

<add name="ConnectionString" connectionString="Data Source=XXX;Initial Catalog=;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=XX;Password=XXXX;Connection Timeout=200" providerName="System.Data.SqlClient"/>

Best regards,
    Dillion

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 5:50 AM
  • User-2117220626 posted