How do I transfer "My Subscriptions"? RRS feed

• Question

• I am an administrator in Reporting Services 2000/2005 (mixed environment) and have set up several report subscriptions.  I see all of the subscriptions under "My Subscriptions" which provides an easy way to see and manage all the subscriptions.

Now we have a few other administrators on my team, and they also want to see all the subscriptions in the environment, but when they click "My Subscriptions" their list is empty.  I have set them up with the same security role as me, but this doesn't seem to matter.

How can I provide a way for the admins to see all subscriptions on all reports in the report server, even if each subscription may be set up by a different user?

Thanks

Kory

Tuesday, August 1, 2006 7:45 PM

Answers

• It is not likely that subscriptions will become a non-permissioned item.  Currently Report Server does not have a concept of an Admin.  If such a concept were to ever show up then I would see them having permission to see all subscriptions.  There is nothing preventing you from setting up your security such that a group of people always have permission to see all subscriptions.

The problem currently is the Report Server does not ship with a way to view all subscriptions (that you have permission to see).  As I stated earlier you could write a quick app to do this, or if you wish to by-pass security (not-recommended :) ) you could create a report on the subscription table as was suggested by someone earlier.

Thursday, August 3, 2006 5:47 PM

All replies

• Did you look at the RSScripter tool (http://www.sqldbatips.com/showarticle.asp?ID=62)? It can show all subscriptions associated for a particular report.

Btw: the RSScripter tool is based on the RS SOAP API - so you could write a small application that connects to a report server and shows all the specific information you would like to see about subscriptions.

-- Robert

Wednesday, August 2, 2006 6:15 AM
  • Rob-