none
xbox kinect vs windows kinect RRS feed

• Question

• I am a C# developer and want to play around with the kinect. 

I initally thought I would just go and purchase a kinect for the xbox and could develop for the kinect on my pc with that.  Then the first thing I searched found the windows kinect.  

I really don't want to have to buy that just to do some development and learn how to program for the kinect.

The only thing that I have read so far is that I can use the xbox kinect for development and if I was doing some for to sale or for any commercial use I would have to use the Kinect for Windows.

All I want to check is that this is true and that I can buy the kinect for xbox and start testing and doing some development on my windows based pc.

Thanks.

Friday, August 31, 2012 5:50 PM

Answers

• Yes, you can. For now. They don't recommend you do it nor do they support it, but it does work, again, for now. With statements like those below, I wouldn't be surprised for that to change sometime in the future.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/kinectforwindows/news/faq.aspx

Can I use the Kinect for Windows SDK with my Kinect for Xbox 360?

The Kinect for Windows SDK has been designed for the Kinect for Windows hardware and application development is only licensed with use of the Kinect for Windows sensor. We do not recommend the use of  Kinect for Xbox 360 in the development of Kinect for Windows applications. Developers should plan to transition to Kinect for Windows hardware for development purposes and should expect that their users will also be using Kinect for Windows hardware.

What's the difference between the Kinect for Windows sensor and the Xbox sensor?

The Kinect for Windows sensor  is a fully-tested and supported Kinect experience on Windows with features such as “near mode,” skeletal tracking control, API improvements, and improved USB support across a range of Windows computers and  Windows-specific 10’ acoustic models.