Newbie Problem - Found fix, but need to understand why.. RRS feed

• Question

• User1546138644 posted

Hi,

I am an ageing ex-C,C++ and VB programmer so not a complete noob to programming. However I am a complete noob to web programming having gone to the dark side (project management) around 15 years ago. After trying unsuccessfully to get my head around the LAMP stack a few years ago I decided to give it another crack with WebMatrix and ASP.NET etc...

So I am working my way through the Web Development 101 stuff and loving it loads, despite the database id column "bug" obviously put in to trip up beginners like me! ;) Thanks to answers here it didn't keep me troubled for long. However today's has been a doozie.

I am up to part 6 (http://www.microsoft.com/web/post/web-development-101-part-6-creating-an-add-data-page) and tried to do the exercise on that page as follows:

"As an added exercise, you may have noticed that the 'Add a New Movie to the Database' text is styled differently from the rest. It's a <h1>, but it hasn't been styled the same way as the header h1. See if you can fix that. (Hint, the header h1 is considered a child of the <header> tag, but this isn't. What would you add to the CSS file to style this the same way?)"

I tried and tried and tried... Nothing was working... Nothing was changing on the page no matter how I changed the CSS file... In the end I had to look at the answer further down the page... And there it was- simply add an <h1> style to the CSS. That isexactly what I had tried first!!!

So I cut and pasted the html out of the exmaple into my own CSS, re-ran and still no change... nothing happened. It was as if the original CSS had been cached somewhere... In the end I rebooted my lappy, restarted WebMatrix and hey presto it all worked first time and the required changes had taken effect in the CSS. All is well...