FIRSTDATE depending on different column RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I was trying all day to solve an issue but I can't get my head around it. I am trying to evaluate two different marketing campaigns from two different years. Therefore I want to check which campaign generated how much revenue in the first 7, 30, 90 and 180 days. I have a flat transaction table that contains amongst others the column "campaign" and "transaction date".

My aim is now to look for the lowest date depending on the campaign (i.e. start date of the campaign). Subsequently I would add the different time intervals to the transaction date of each transaction and use an IF function to write a string (for example "Revenue 7") into a calculated column so that I can use it as a dimension in the pivot table to show the respective revenue.

I would be really thankful if somebody has an answer to this as it drives me nuts... I must admit that I am pretty new to power pivot. I have some basic understanding of SQL but that didn't help so far.

Thanks,

Stefan

Thursday, December 4, 2014 2:57 PM

Answers

• You're doing something similar to what you did above. You are wrapping your reference to the date *and* your addition of 7 in the parentheses for the MIN(). Please look carefully at the code I posted and the code you have posted. 

Thinking logically about what we want to do:

1. Find the minimum of [Transaction Date].
    2. Add 7 to this value.
    3. Test whether the [Transaction Date] on the current row in consideration in FILTER() is less than the value computed in 1 and 2.

Thus, we must find the minimum:

MIN( NewsCampaign[Transaction Date] )
    Then we add 7:
            MIN( NewsCampaign[Transaction Date] ) + 7
    But, we want to perform this calculation before we do the comparison, thus:
            ( MIN( NewsCampaign[Transaction Date] ) + 7)
    Which then fits into the full FILTER() predicate as follows: