File Not Found Error RRS feed

• Question

• Hi ,

Im a complete newbie to vb 2005 express

Im creating a lil program that when i click a button it will read a text file on the hard drive and stream it to a text box

I keep getting FileNotFoundExceptionWasNotHandled

Trouble shooting tips

verify that the file exists in the specified location

when using relative paths make sure the current directory is correct

im trying to avoid using a openfiledialog control

Heres my code

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click

Dim mystream As System.IO.StreamReader

mystream = System.IO.File.OpenText("C:\A\A.txt")

Dim mystring As String

mystring = mystream.ReadToEnd

mystream.Close()

TextBox1.Text = mystring

End Sub

Any Help would sure be appreciated Thanks

Saturday, April 19, 2008 3:23 AM

Answers

• It's pretty simple, just like what the error message said. The file you are trying to access does not exist, therefore an error is thrown. Are you sure the file exists as you have entered the path in the OpenText() method?

Best practice is to make sure you check for the file if it exists before performing an operation. Example:

if System.IO.File.Exists("path\file.txt") then

'code to read file

else

MessageBox.Show("The file path entered does not exist")

end if

be sure that the path you are giving to the file, exists, that it is the correct path. As always, there are more than one way to write the same code. Just for your information and curiosity, here is a shorter way:

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click

using mystream As System.IO.StreamReader = System.IO.File.OpenText("C:\A\A.txt")

Me.textBox1.Text = mystream.ReadToEnd()

mystream.Close()

end using

End Sub