Licensing required for running an IIS based web server RRS feed

• Question

• User-527837605 posted

I am new to Microsoft licensing and confused over the CAL thing, for running a IIS based web server accessing SQL 2005, what licensing do I need?

In short, like to know a sample of licensing you get for your site using MS stuff. I heard about the external connector thing and it is so confusing and prohibitive. So bad that this kind of stuff stands in the way for me to convince my manager to use IIS instead of Apache and PHP.

Tuesday, June 3, 2008 12:52 AM

Answers

All replies

• User-1517208541 posted

I think U need....Win 2003 server OS license.......were IIS is a part of this server OS.....even Old versions of IIS can be found in Old Server OS.......

Tuesday, June 3, 2008 1:59 AM
  • User-527837605 posted

Thanks, but actually what I am not sure is whether I can use the web server edition connecting to a SQL 2005 hosted on a Windows Server Standard, or must I get an External Connector license.

Or do you guys simply get a Windows standard/Enterprise edition, host the site in IIS and open up access to the public?

Tuesday, June 3, 2008 3:24 AM
  • User-823196590 posted

This should give you the general idea.
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb878084(TechNet.10).aspx
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserver2003/howtobuy/licensing/overview.mspx

Basically, if you don't intend to authenticate users as Windows users then you don't need any additional CALs.  The external connector license only applies if you need to have users connect to your server as Windows users, say through terminal services or file/print shares.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Tuesday, September 28, 2021 12:00 AM
    Tuesday, June 3, 2008 9:20 AM
  • User-527837605 posted