none
Referring to an Outlook Ribbon item but not from an Add-In RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have a VS2010 application that creates and sends an Outlook 2010 e-mail using VSTO however due to some recent changes in regulation we are now required to send all e-mails using a specific secure method.

The organisation that offer the encryption service provides an add-in that adds a button to the Message tab in the ribbon displayed by the mail item inspector however they provide no programmatic interface to be able to automate sending e-mails.  As many of our e-mails are templated and we record when they are sent, it is not practical to simply display the mail item and expect the user to click the button to send it. However I cannot find any way of automating clicking this button or even referring to it as all examples that I can find assume that the code is being executed from an add-in which in this case it isn't.

Can anyone help?  I'm pretty new to VSTO.

Monday, February 11, 2013 5:01 PM

Answers

• If you know from UI which button must be clicked to invoke their functionality then simply access Inspector.CommandBars property which expose all command bars (and their buttons) - iterate or use Find to find your button and invoke Click on it.
    Tuesday, February 12, 2013 9:16 AM

All replies

• if they provide no API access to their functionality you are on your own - try myabe to discover how they detect if mail should be encrypted using their code, maybe they just set up some user property or mapi property. If not, then your only option is to automate outlook using SendKeys or Accesability API to mimic user pressing their button.
    Monday, February 11, 2013 6:38 PM
  • If using Redemption is an option, you can try to use Safenspector.Ribbon to select the appropriate tab and simulate a mouse click on the control: http://www.dimastr.com/redemption/SafeRibbonControl.htm

Note that the message needs to be displayed to be able to access the inspector Ribbons.