none
Distinguished Fields VS Promoted Property. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am a newbie in BizTalk server. I have started reading a book "Microsoft BizTalk Server 2010 Unleashed". I have read about difference between Distinguished field and Promoted Property. 

"Distinguished fields are the only ones of the two that can be used to write values into content of a message. Changing the value of a promoted property changes only the value in the context. Demotion can help you get the value into content."

I understood : I can modify  value of the incoming message by distinguished field in the orchestration. However, I cannot by promoted field(As said, change value in the context.)

Last week, I have used promoted property and modify the incoming message value. So, I am confused about above statement  "Changing the value of a promoted property changes only the value in the context".

Please suggest.

Thanks, Mohit Dahiya

Monday, August 8, 2016 4:52 AM

Answers

• Hi Mohit

Any message that is published to BizTalk has two components - 1) one/more message parts(body) and 2) a context(which is a collection of property names and their values).

Now, a Distinguished field is a shortcut/xpath to a given element/field in the message body. So if you set a value on a distinguished field in orchestration, it is actually changing the message content for that particular field in the message body.

On the other hand, if you change/set the value of a promoted property, it affects the context property collection, by changing/setting one of the context property values in the collection - it does not change the message content.

Note:

Both of the above operations have to be performed in a Construct Message Shape, and you cannot set distinguished fields/promoted properties on a message that you have received in the orchestration. You always have to create a copy of the received message, and perform the changes in a Construct Message Shape.