Converting from asp classic to asp.net RRS feed

• Question

• User640639332 posted

im a contractor and im upgrading the system from asp to asp.net

they have an online data base that is uning the postgres drivers and have no idea how to link to the database with the asp.net. the connection string that they use with the asp is as follows:

ConnStrP = "Driver={PostgreSQL 64-Bit ODBC Drivers};Server=(the servers name);Port=5432;Database=(databases name);Uid=(user id);Pwd=(passowrd);"

can anyone help me out with making a connection to this database using ASP.NET

Thursday, November 25, 2010 11:42 PM

All replies

• User-821857111 posted

string ConnStrP = "Driver={PostgreSQL 64-Bit ODBC Drivers};Server=(the servers name);Port=5432;Database=(databases name);Uid=(user id);Pwd=(passowrd);";
    OdbcConnection conn = new OdbcConnection(ConnStrP);

Or using VB:

Dim ConnStrP As String = "Driver={PostgreSQL 64-Bit ODBC Drivers};Server=(the servers name);Port=5432;Database=(databases name);Uid=(user id);Pwd=(passowrd);"
    Dim conn As OdbcConnection = New OdbcConnection(ConnStrP)

Friday, November 26, 2010 1:09 AM
  • User640639332 posted

so r u saying that i have to do the connection using vb and not through the web config file? 

Thanks for replying so quickly

ill be able to let u know if it has worked in 2 days time wen i get bac to the office and all

Friday, November 26, 2010 9:14 PM
  • User-821857111 posted

so r u saying that i have to do the connection using vb and not through the web config file? 

No. You could do it using the web config if you like: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms178411.aspx

Saturday, November 27, 2010 3:31 AM
  • User640639332 posted

i still have no idea what im doing wrong because the error that i keep getting is that the keyword driver isnt supported and everywhere i look it says to use the keyword so im a little confused for how im going to get around this. currently i have this connection string in the config file