none
What is the best way to keep linq RAM cache for C#? RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to linq, so my questions may sound stupid, but i hope for help )) I have database with a couple of tables - one is huge and rarely used (for logs) and one is rather small (<10mb of data) but is used very often (a lot of reads and updates, some rare writes)

So i have two datasets for logs and data, while writing to logs i can use usual direct linq queries, but for data table i want some cache in RAM to reduce database load

Seems like i can do it by simply adding object between dataset and queries:

DCDataContext _pDC = new DCDataContext();
          var _buffer = from a in _pDC.pTables
               select a;
          var _result = from a in _buffer
               where a.pId>1
               select a;
          pNameList.ItemsSource = _result;

• DCDataContext is data context of MSLinqToSQLGenerator with data table in it
    • pId is primary key id for data table

If i'm not wrong, such code will create _buffer object by loading whole database table in it, and all _result queries will be executed in ram as they are pointed not to SQL object (like _buffer query) but are pointed to local resource _buffer, that already contains data from SQL

So i have some questions:

1. am i right?
    2. is there any kind of better solution?
    3. how can i sync _result with database? if i will add new row or update old row in _resul object, i will need to store this changes - maybe appling changes to _pDC is the best way (so i will need to re-execute _result query to get it in sync with _pDC, and submitChanges() on _pDC when programm will have spare time to update real SQL db)?
    4. when i call submitChanges - what data is actually updated - only changed one (since last read/update?) or there is some overhead?

Sorry for being so dumb ))

Thursday, April 21, 2011 6:58 PM

Answers

• http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb896272.aspx