Random colors question ... RRS feed

• Question

• User-1110347893 posted

Hi to all. I am new in programming. 

I have this problem. I need to generate a new color in my for loop and I don't know in advance the number of iterations that for loop will have. It might be only 2 or 3 iterations, and it could be up to 30 or so. The two neighboring colors should be pretty different for the naked eye. The flash chart is in question. I use a for loop to draw the different categories of that chart and each categorie has a color property that would need to be assigned. Since the better part of the charts have only 3 categories tops could I use one array for them with three distinct colors (ex. blue, red, green) ... and for the chart with more than three categories a random different color? I really can't know the number of the categories upfront and that gives me a headache. How programatically to change that many different colors? I would appreciate any help.

Thanks. 

Here is the part of the code ..

found = false;
                        foreach(FcDataSetNodeMultyCharts elem in graph.getDataSetNodeList())
                        {
                            if(dr["PRODUCTTYPE"].ToString() == elem.seriesName)
                            {
                                found = true;
                                break;
                            }
                        }
                        if(!found)
                        {
                            FcDataSetNodeMultyCharts elemDataSet = new FcDataSetNodeMultyCharts();
                            elemDataSet.seriesName = dr["PRODUCTTYPE"].ToString();
                            elemDataSet.showValues =  FcDataSetNode.yesNoEnum.yes;
                            elemDataSet.color =colors[col%3] + colors[(col+1)%3] + colors[(col+2)%3];
                            col += 2;
                            graph.addDataSetNodeToList(elemDataSet);
                        }

Sunday, January 13, 2008 8:31 AM