none
C++/CX question about strings RRS feed

• Question

• Hello I am a long time C# programmer in the industry and I am trying to transition into C++/CX as I have been writting Windows Phone 7/7.5 apps since day 1 of them being available. I always wanted to dive into c++ but being as I write c#/asp/asp.net/mvc/winform code for a living I never had the need to do so until now. Basically I am trying to figure out how to expose a "public" string for say the name of an object. code below ..

#include "pch.h"

#include <string>

ref class TestClass sealed
    {
    public:
      property Platform::String^ ObjectName;
    };

Now .. I seen during //BUILD/ they said not to really use Platform::String as it wont port to other platforms that use say std::wstring .. What should I be using as I cannot use std::wstring or any other standard string types as propertys in c++/cx or as public access that I can see. Also what would you use for a PUBLIC string type if I try to use the following I get a "a non-value type cannot have any public data members 'Name'"

#include "pch.h"

#include <string>

ref class TestClass sealed
    {
    public:
      std::wstring Name;
    };

I am just trying to wrap my head around what we take for granted in c# which is auto get/set's hah. I am sure this is a simple thing to do but would appreciate any help with this.

Friday, November 9, 2012 4:18 PM

Answers

• "Also do I have to do any dispose or delete on these RT objects to make sure they go out of scope when the class is released from GC cuz I think they are managed still right? or what."

They're not "managed" as C++/CX produces native code and doesn't use .NET. But WinRT objects are referenced counted and C++/CX implements automatic reference counting so in general you don't have to do anything to release objects. Occasionally you may need to set a reference to nullptr but this isn't common.