none
VE AJAX Control or the Bing Maps web services? RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Bing Maps.  I use ASP.Net to build web applications.  I know very little javascript and I'm have a tough time understanding the javascript functions I see on this forum.  99% of my web development has been using server-side code in C# and VB.Net.

So given my background, which environment should I be using to build some web pages using Bing Maps?  It appears to me that using the web services would allow me to use my server-side skills.  Or should I "bite the bullet" and learn more javascript to utilize the Ajax control?  What are the pros and cons of using the web services versus the Ajax Control?  Is one approach more powerfel than another?

I also tried the Simplovation control which is a third-party ASP.Net control that works great.  The problem is, it looks like the guy who built this has abandoned it.  He has a forum and blog and stopped posting over a year ago. 

So I am hoping some of you smart folks can provide some guidance and point me in the right direction.

Thanks

• Moved by Ricky_Brundritt Saturday, March 10, 2012 1:30 PM (From:Bing Maps: Map Control and Web services Development)
    Tuesday, February 7, 2012 1:02 PM

Answers

• Don't decide between tools based on your knowledge as a developer. Decide between them based on what functionality you want your map to have.

Do you want your users to be able to scroll/zoom pan around the map (i.e. make a "slippy map" like you see on the www.bing.com/maps site)? If so, you're going to need to use one of the client-side controls - either AJAX or Silverlight. If you know C# then you might prefer Silverlight over AJAX, although obviously bear in mind that means your users will have to have the silverlight plug-in installed.