Copying A Worksheet From Addin To Active Workbook (vb.net) RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to VSTO but have a reasonable understanding of VBA.

I'm migrating an add-in that was written in VBA to VSTO and need a little help with parts of it.

In my old add-in I have template worksheets stored within the add-in itself.

I'd like to keep a workbook within my VSTO addin and use .net to copy a worksheet from that workbook (within my new VSTO addin) into the activeworkbook.

Is this difficult to do? Little help?

Thursday, August 8, 2013 10:32 AM

Answers

• Basically, yes, that's how it works.

Right-click on the project name in the Project Explorer and choose to Add a New Folder; give it a meaningful name. Drag the file from Windows Explorer onto the folder in the PRoject Explorer.

Make sure the file is selected, then in the Proporties window:

- Build Action: Content
    - Copy to Output directory: Copy always

When you build your solution, VSTO will then include the file and recreate the folder and the file during installation.

You get the path while your code is running something like the following, except that this example from an Add-in I have with a list of graphics in the folder ObstacleObjects:

fileName = String.Format("{0}{1}{2}", Globals.ThisAddIn.filePath, "\ObstacleObjects\", ObstacleName.Remove(0, 3) + ".emf")

Cindy Meister, VSTO/Word MVP, my blog

• Marked as answer by DoctorExcel Friday, August 9, 2013 9:53 PM
    Thursday, August 8, 2013 2:20 PM

All replies

• How do you envision "keep a workbook within my VSTO add-in"? Do you mean you'd want to distribute a workbook as part of your solution?

Thursday, August 8, 2013 12:14 PM
  • I'm guessing, but I suspect its wrapped up in the installation files and then is deployed into an installation folder with the other project files. Then I need to refer to the file, open it, copy the sheet into the activeworkbook, and then close the excel workbook again.

Any simpler way?