Possibly merely a misunderstanding of asynchronous webrequests RRS feed

• Question

• User-674010974 posted

First of all, I apologize is this post is inappropriate in placement or content, but asking for help in forums has never been my forte.

My question is fairly simple, and, as I implied in the header, possibly just spawned from a misunderstanding of the asynchronous webrequest. 

Here is the scenario; I have a VB.NET GUI that collects information from the user and then sends it to a back-end server through a PHP script.  The PHP script runs several calculations on the values, enters them into databases, and in general takes a rather long time.  I don't need the response from the PHP script immediately, so I ran the webrequest asynchronous.
        Admittedly, this is my first time trying asynchronous... well, anything, and I am mostly working with a general grasp of the material gained through the omniscient internet.  As such, I was under the impression that the asynchronous request would continue functioning in the background while the rest of my code ran unaffected in the foreground. 
        After examining the flow of the program using breakpoints, however, I was somewhat surprised and disappointed to discover that it was immediately jumping from the async request to the callback function without even trying to execute the following code.  Somewhat miffed, I supposed it was possible that the code finished while I was scanning through the breakpoints (still entirely possible) so I took out all breakpoints, then added one right after the async request and one inside the callback procedure.  After running it, lo and behold, the code went the the callback first.  I can only assume that this is normal behavior and that I have misunderstood the fundamental purpose/use.

If I am merely misunderstanding the purpose of the Asynchronous request, I would be very grateful if you would explain what/how the async request is used.