Read/write data from Microsoft Access Database RRS feed

• Question

• I need to read/write data to an Microsoft Access database within my metro app, but if I am correct that is not possible? What options do I have? Webservices? I'm not very experienced with webservices, do you need web servers/internet Connections when using such? The application itself will run mostly without any internet connection of any kind.
    Thursday, August 16, 2012 12:18 PM

Answers

• @kolback - without a developer license you won't be able to side load to your customer.  They should be following enterprise deployment setup for this.  However, even with that said, you'd be doing your customer a disservice to develop an app that doesn't pass the Windows App Certification Kit (WACK) -- the same initial test the store uses.  Even in enterprise deployment situations where this isn't *required* we have stated that we make no commitment that this wouldn't be required in the future and that passing the WACK should always be a goal.

The reason you are able to run it locally yes is because you have a dev environment.  Your customer would have to have some windows service hosting your web service, etc.  Then at that point you are adding too much to this IMO.

Have you explored SQLite as an option?  It's a database that you can embed in your application and perform queries directly against.

Tim Heuer | Program Manager, XAML | http://timheuer.com/blog | @timheuer

(if my post has answered your question, please consider using the 'mark as answer' feature in the forums to help others)

• Marked as answer by kolback Monday, August 20, 2012 7:40 AM
    Saturday, August 18, 2012 12:30 AM

All replies

• mm yes.. so you need a desktop application / webapplication that expose webservices to talk with access databases

maybe take a look at sqllite?

Thursday, August 16, 2012 12:32 PM