none
C# Program Control Flow RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am new to C#.    I am an SQL DB programmer.

We have a DB application written in C#, there is no front-end.  Its just backend application.

Am trying to understand the program flow of this application through debugging by setting breakpoints at various points in the code.   I want to trace where is the starting point of the application, where is its endpoint.   And, how is the program control flowing from start to end.  I want to know how many n-tiered application it is  etc.

This particular application is NOT multithreaded one.

What best can be the approach in knowing these requirements?

thank you

Friday, July 20, 2018 8:59 PM

All replies

• Friday, July 20, 2018 9:06 PM
  • Each application has entry point which is defined by startup object. It is determined in project properties in application tab - startup object. It could be any class which has static method with string[] parameters. End point is last comand in this method. But it is true when there is not another background thread. 

There is difference between layer and tier. To see calling methods you can use Codemap in Visual Studio Enterprise. It is nice tool to show where method is called from, you can see call different assemblies, etc...

Saturday, July 21, 2018 5:06 PM
  • Hi,

To learn to debug a project, also please check:

Tutorial: Learn to debug using Visual Studio

7 Debugging Techniques you should know in C# .NET

Regards,

Stanly