SQL trace set to halt on audit failure, now SQL server won't start RRS feed

• Question

• Running SQL Server 2012 Standard.  I'm new to SQL, so bear with me.  To comply with a security guideline, I created an event trace to log events, and was required to configure it so that the database would shut down if it failed to audit.  Of course, now that I've rebooted the server the SQL Server (MSSQLSERVER) service won't start, and I'm pretty sure it's because the event trace can't audit.  The error I get when I try to start the service manually is rather generic:

Windows could not start the SQL Server (MSSQLSERVER) service on <servername>.  Error 1067: The process terminated unexpectedly.

1. Is there a way to debug the SQL Server service to determine why it won't start?

2. Presuming my suspicion is correct, that it won't start due to a failure to audit, is there a way to stop the stored procedure that I created (which I set to start automatically) from starting, or reconfigure it so that it won't kill the SQL Server on audit failure?  If there is a way to modify that stored procedure without going through Management Studio, I know the line that needs to be edited.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014 9:37 PM

Answers

• All - Thanks for the assistance with this issue.  As I mentioned above, I have restored the server from a  backup that was taken before the changes were made and my SQL Server is back in operation. 

I wasn't sure which section of the SQL Server forum would be appropriate to ask this question, so I posted it under SQL Server Security since the problem occurred as a result of attempting to secure the server.  I'm going to post new threads to get help with properly configuring the Event Trace and Logon Triggers, and will post those to the SQL Server Security section as well unless anyone has suggestions for a more appropriate section.

• Marked as answer by tracycai Monday, August 11, 2014 7:49 AM
    Thursday, August 7, 2014 8:21 PM

All replies