Data from a SQL Database RRS feed

• Question

• User-372071297 posted

Hi Folks,

i have a SQL (Express) Database and I like to use it in my MVC Web App. Sorry, all for me is new. I´m learning building up websites. 

The normal way I connect into my database, is with username and password. But already, when I try to insert these database in my MVC Project I get a warning message that told me, that ther is a security problem, when userdates are a part of the connection string. I already told you, that I am a absolute beginner in these points, so please tell me, what is the correct way to get datas from and to a sql database by a secure way.

Thanks alot.

datekk.

Friday, March 10, 2017 2:30 PM

All replies

• User-1509636757 posted

You may use Entity Framework as middleware between Database and your code to access and manipulate data. Can you provide some more detail on how you are trying to access data from database? Also, let all know if you are facing any specific issue while accessing data.

Friday, March 10, 2017 4:01 PM
  • User-372071297 posted

Hi. Thanks for answer. I work with Visual Stuido and Im using .Net MCV.. I have insert a Model, based on EF. After scarefoldering I have new entries in my Web.config file:

<connectionStrings>

<add name="PersonendatenbankEntities" cconnectionString="metadata=res://*/Models.SQLModel.csdl|res://*/Models.SQLModel.ssdl|res://*/Models.SQLModel.msl;provider=System.Data.SqlClient;provider connection string=&quot;data source=*****************;initial catalog=Test_db;persist security info=True;user id=***********;password=**********************;MultipleActiveResultSets=True;App=EntityFramework&quot;" providerName="System.Data.EntityClient" />
    </connectionStrings>

But Visual Studio told me, that way is not secure.

Friday, March 10, 2017 4:22 PM
  • User-1509636757 posted