Help Getting Started with LINQ/Entity Framework RRS feed

• Question

• I decided to give the Entity Framework and LINQ a try. I'm not new to .NET, but I am very new to these technologies. Naturally, I'm getting nowhere in a hurry.

Here's what I did:

1. I right clicked on my WinForms project, selected Add New Item and chose "ADO.NET Entity Data Model".

2. I was then able to generate an EDMX file from my SQL Server 2008 database.

3. I then tried to write my first LINQ statement against the created entities.

Here's the problems I'm having:

1. The namespace for my model is blackbeltcoderModel, yet I get no Intellisense for this name. And, if I type it in, I get an error saying the type or namespace could not be found.

2. I tried entering the statement below. bbc_Categories, the name of one of my tables, appears in pale blue indicating it is recognized. However, I get the error "Could not find an implementation of the query pattern for source type 'BlackBelt.bbc_Categories'.  'Where' not found."

var x = from c in bbc_Categories
    	where c.Title.Length > 0
    	select c.Title;

Do I need to do more to create the required objects? Can someone help me fill in the missing pieces?

Thanks.

Jonathan Wood | SoftCircuits | Developer Blog
    Saturday, June 26, 2010 9:15 PM

Answers

• Hi Jonathan,

Thank you very much for sending me the demo!   I found where the problem is. 

bbc_Categories is a EntityObject type class.   To use LINQ to Entities, we need to first create an ObjectContext class, which manages all the entities classes, connections, transactions, and etc.    The ObjectContext can be seen as a database.  Then ObjectContext has several ObjectSet<> collection, these ObjectSet<> can be seen as data tables.   I modified your codes in the demo into:

=============================================================================

using (blackbeltcoderEntities context = new blackbeltcoderEntities())

{

var x = from c in context.bbc_Categories