none
interop.word extract sections between titles from word RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys,

I am a beginner with c#. I have got a project where I need to extract some text from a word document. To do so, I understood that the easiest way is to use interop.word. I am prefectly fine with that. I manage to extract the whole document.

But, I do not manage to "recognize" the titles and extract only the sections between the titles. Furthermore, I would like also extract only the bold text, is that possible? Some pieces of code or examples would very useful...

By the way, I did not manage to find a clear documentation of the interop.word referency... If you know where I can get it, do not hesitate!!

Thanks in advance

• Moved by Leo Liu - MSFT Monday, December 5, 2011 7:04 AM Moved for better support. (From:Visual C# General)
    Friday, December 2, 2011 6:05 PM

Answers

• Hi David

Try this

Word.

Document doc = Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument;
      Word.
    Rangerng = doc.Content;

object oH3 = Word.WdBuiltinStyle.wdStyleHeading3;

object oH4 = Word.WdBuiltinStyle.wdStyleHeading4;

object findText = "";

object oTrue = true;

object oWrapFind = Word.WdFindWrap.wdFindContinue;

object oReplaceAll = Word.WdReplace.wdReplaceAll;
      rng.Find.ClearFormatting();
      rng.Find.Font.Bold = -1;
      rng.Find.Replacement.set_Style(
    refoH3);

bool s = rng.Find.Execute(ref findText, ref missing, ref missing, ref missing, refmissing, ref missing, ref missing, ref missing, ref oTrue, ref missing, refoReplaceAll, ref missing, ref missing, ref missing, refmissing);
      findText =
    "<??????[0-9]*>";
      rng.Find.set_Style(
    refoH3);
    refoH4);
    refoH4);
      rng.Find.Execute(
    ref findText, ref missing, ref missing, ref oTrue, refmissing, ref missing, ref missing, ref oWrapFind, ref oTrue, ref missing, refoReplaceAll, ref missing, ref missing, ref missing, ref missing);

Cindy Meister, VSTO/Word MVP