none
Frame rate and polling RRS feed

• Question

• I'm confuse with frame rate and PC computational capability.

1) The PC's computational capability affects the fps show in the SkeletalViewer example? -I say because of I read some forums and I don't understand clearly how the framerate.text acquire his value.

2) I've read polling in MicrosogftGuide.pdf but I don't understand how to implement, could you give me a hand?

3) If I need to save/write the data capture(RGD,Depth,Skeletal as stride), does this affect the polling?. There is way to do that (without affects the polling) -it's complex to programming or impossible for hardware-?

Thanks

sorry if I'm so impertinent, I'm new with C# and C++

Thursday, August 11, 2011 8:32 PM

Answers

• I'll answer your part (2) separately, since it's a question that has been asked a couple of times and usually I write code samples buried deeper within thread, so answering it directly will have a polling code sample close to top of thread. Note that this sample doesn't do any error checking and also blocks the thread being executed, so code structure would most likely be modified if it is to be integrated in a UI-driven application):

HANDLE pVideoStreamHandle = NULL;

NuiInitialize(NUI_INITIALIZE_FLAG_USES_COLOR);
    NuiImageStreamOpen(NUI_IMAGE_TYPE_COLOR,
        NUI_IMAGE_RESOLUTION_640x480,
        NULL,
        &pVideoStreamHandle);

while (1)
    {
     const NUI_IMAGE_FRAME * pImageFrame = NULL;
     HRESULT hr = NuiImageStreamGetNextFrame(pVideoStreamHandle, 200, &pImageFrame);
     if( hr == E_NUI_FRAME_NO_DATA)
     {
     // No stream frame was found after waiting for requested amount.
     // Continue and try again (or, you could also choose to bail out
     // from function here).
     continue;
     }
     else if (FAILED(hr))
     {
     break;
     }

// Your code to deal with data from pImageFrame

NuiImageStreamReleaseFrame(pVideoStreamHandle, pImageFrame);
    }

I'm here to help