none
Linking Tables Problem RRS feed

• Question

• Using C#.

I'm very new to this environment and need some help please.

I'm trying to get two tables and two comboboxes to work together:  "tblTank" and "tblTankStatus".  

tblTank looks something like this:

AutoID    Tank       Status

1         Tank1      On

2         Tank2      Off

3         Tank3      Off

tblTankStatus looks something like this:

AutoID    Status

1         On

2         Off

3         High

4         Low

etc.

The two Status columns where linked sucessfully in Access. When in Access and  I click in the "Status" column in tblTank, a dropdown appears and I can select from the different status conditions text (but it is linked to the tblTankStatus AutoID). It seems to be working as it should in Access.

In my project:

I used the Configure Dataset Wizard to make sure the changes to the tables were loaded in my project.

It all looks good except I cannot see the links in the Dataset Designer (but other links in other tables are shown). I tried manually linking the two tables in the Dataset Designer, and it showed the link, but that did not help.

tblTank.Tank is linked to a combobox, and tblTankStatus.Status is linked to another combobox. Both with a DataSouce and DisplayMember. The text appears in both comboxes okay and I can make selections.

When I change the Tank row in the TankComboBox and then select a status for it in the TankStatusComboBox, the Status selections are not sticking to the Tank when I change Tanks.

I tried this actual code:

TankStatusComboBox_SelectedIndexChanged( ... {

int tankstatus = TankStatusComboBox.SelectedIndex + 1;

int tank = tblProcesssystemIDBindingSource.Position;

process_LogDataSet.tblProcesssystemID.Rows[tank]["Status"] = tankstatus;

tblProcesssystemIDTableAdapter.Update(process_LogDataSet.tblProcesssystemID);

// process_LogDataSet.tblProcesssystemID.AcceptChanges();