Please Help! I have a subscription/replication issue with the error - Replication-Replication Distribution Subsystem: agent (null) failed. The publication 'blah' does not exist. RRS feed

• Question

• I keep getting this error and my subscription table isn't populating:
    The publication 'publish_playerSession_off_serverABC' does not exist.

Other setup items: 
    1) Both servers are on the same domain Windows Server 2008 running SQL Server 2008 and the SQL agent is running under a network account. 
    2) I have the publication destination on a shared network drive & the network account mentioned above has access to this drive. 

Thanks in Advance! Carl 

Carl

Wednesday, August 6, 2014 6:03 PM

Answers

• Hi Carl,

Has the Publisher or Subscriber ever been renamed?

The error The publication 'Foo' does not exist - I've seen this error after creating a subscription when the Publisher had previously been renamed but sp_dropserver <old_name> and sp_addserver <new_name>, local had not been run.

If this is what you are running into, drop you subscription, then follow the procedure in Rename a Computer that Hosts a Stand-Alone Instance of SQL Server, then recreate your subscription and try again.

Brandon Williams (blog | linkedin)

• Marked as answer by tracycai Monday, August 18, 2014 8:48 AM
    Friday, August 8, 2014 5:38 PM

All replies

• Do you have that Publication(publish_playerSession_off_serverABC)?

Did you check the below link

http://www.mssqltips.com/sqlservertip/2715/tracking-down-sql-server-replication-distribution-subsystem-agent-null-failed-errors/

--Prashanth

Wednesday, August 6, 2014 7:06 PM
  • I deleted and recreated all the subscription/publication jobs on both the publication and subscription server but now am getting the following error on the subscription server: SQL Server could not create a subscription for Subscriber 'server abc', This subscription already exists. (New Subscription Wizard).