Unit Testing C++ code using VS 2008 RRS feed

• Question

• I am very new to C# modules.

I have a managed C++ dll( say,ManagedDll).  I want to Create the Unit Test for the ManagedDll.

I created a mixed managed(compiled using /clr) wrapper dll ( of  ManagedDll) (say, ManagedDllClr).  
    I created a C# dll ( using VS 2008 Test Create wizard for Unit Test) (say, ManagedDllTest).All code complies. When I run the test case using Test->Run->test in current context I get following error.

Failed TestMethod1 ManagedDllTest Unable to create instance of class ManagedDllTest.UnitTest1. Error:  System.IO.FileNotFoundException: The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E).

I think that the problem is: The test case could not find all the necessary dlls ( Am I correct ?).

I think that if i put all dlls in one directory it will work.

I  set the of output directory of C# project (ManagedDllTest) to  $(SolutionDir)$(ConfigurationName). By default it was set to "bin\release".

result : It created a directory with literally  "$(SolutionDir)$(ConfigurationName)"

Question: Does'not a C# default Unit Test has default  vales for these properties? Is it OK if I manually write these properties by editing Visual C# project file?

General question:

1.Where shall I start debugging a unit test. Basically, looking for the "main"  that runs any (C#Module created by default)Unit Test.

2. what path does a unit test searches when i looks for dlls?
    • Moved by Cece Dong Friday, October 11, 2013 2:43 AM the thread belongs to Unit Testing forum
    Thursday, October 10, 2013 5:53 PM

Answers

• Hello,

Based on your description, I am not sure about your scenario. If you plan to create unit test for the ManagedDLL, why do you create a mixed managed wrapper dll? Do you reference it in the MnagedDll?