Multi-Language Web Site using app_GlobalResource RRS feed

• Question

• User-1900702984 posted

I have downloaded and reviewed this tutorial http://www.asp.net/learn/videos/video-40.aspx several times.  It seems simple enough :) however the app_GlobalResource file is not working... so here it is.

I downloaded the sample project c# version, the website run nicely except for the global part.  When I change the language in IE8 it doesn't change on the page.  What is missing, is there something in IE 8 that needs to be turned on or off?  I have Win7x64, VS08, IIS running asp 2.0 and IE8.

When I am inside VS08 and use the expressions property the app_GlobalResource link is there (the default) but doesn't switch between the languages.. I am stumped!!

Can anyone please help me solve this problem? 

thanks in advance for your help :?

Friday, January 22, 2010 4:05 PM

Answers

• User-1900702984 posted

LOL.. like i said.. I am new at the whole language thing.. but I found my problem..

can we say "dah"... ;)

The example works just fine.. I just didn't realize that the code behind was overriding the IE language settings.. so I added this to my master page settings..

Culture="auto" UICulture="auto"

and everything is working as it should in my test app.. now time to implement it in my project..

again thanks for helping!!!! or trying at least :) 

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, January 25, 2010 9:02 AM

All replies

• User-126244515 posted

I just downloaded the sample code and ran it; it works just fine. Now, I didn't convert it, but kept it in .NET 2.0. Did you convert it, or make any other changes to the code or configuration?

---EDIT---

I just converted it to .NET 3.5 and it still works fine here, on Windows Server 2008 and with IE 8.

Saturday, January 23, 2010 1:53 AM
  • User-1900702984 posted