Reading Pane Settings storage location RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Everyone,

I work in the field of Computer Forensics and I'm attempting to locate where outlook saves the settings for the Reading pane within outlook.  I've tried to look through numerious googles, and searches of the forum I've come up empty handed.  I just need to know what gets modified when a user selects "mark items as read when in Reading pane for xx seconds."  Is it a registry entry?  Is it saved to ntuser.dat? 

Any and all help would be great as this has stumped me and I'm in a time crunch.

JDMuir

Tuesday, August 3, 2010 4:33 PM

All replies

• HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Outlook\Preferences\PreviewMarkMessage and PreviewWaitSeconds for the number of seconds. Both are DWORDS. If the properties have never been set the registry entries may not exist.

Where you see "12.0" that's for Outlook 2007. You would adjust that for the Outlook version.

As with many Outlook settings stored in the registry, they are read on startup only. After that changes are written out to the registry but Outlook uses an in-memory cache of settings. So changes you might make to the registry settings after startup won't be used.

--
    Ken Slovak
    [MVP - Outlook]
    http://www.slovaktech.com
    Author: Professional Programming Outlook 2007.
    Reminder Manager, Extended Reminders, Attachment Options.
    http://www.slovaktech.com/products.htm

"jdmuir" <=?utf-8?B?amRtdWly?=> wrote in message news:3e8b98f7-5246-46ca-b773-495e5fbe25ca...

Hello Everyone,

I work in the field of Computer Forensics and I'm attempting to locate where outlook saves the settings for the Reading pane within outlook.  I've tried to look through numerious googles, and searches of the forum I've come up empty handed.  I just need to know what gets modified when a user selects "mark items as read when in Reading pane for xx seconds."  Is it a registry entry?  Is it saved to ntuser.dat?