HOW DO I: Insert on a table, using tableadapter? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I guess my subject said a lot of my problem, but anyways i will try
    to explain it.

this is it:

Im new at this c# stuff, so i was tryin' to insert
    a row, into a two colums table.

after tryin' with the DataRow Class, I got to the "tableAdapter.insert" method.

it worked once... but I could'nt commit the changes..
    not even using the AceptChanges method.

anyways you get my point... anybody can help?
    Monday, September 25, 2006 6:27 AM

Answers

• there is no TableAdapter.Insert method, unless perhaps (im unsure) you created it using a Wizard?

basically programmatically, you create a dataset to hold all your records, and a tableAdapter.

the tableAdapter requires a SelectCommand first, in its constructor (OleDbCommand or SqlCommand)

Then afterwards, you can implement the InsertCommand in the table adapter and finally execute the Update() command to commit changes to the database.

Example:

DataSet theDataSet = new DataSet(); //you should declare this on a global scale level, at the top of the class

SqlDataAdapter theDataAdapter = new SqlDataAdapter(); //as well as this.

//fill records:

SqlCommand theSQLCommand = new SqlCommand("SELECT * FROM tableName", new SqlConnection(connectionString);

this.theDataAdapter.SelectCommand = theSQLCommand;

theSQLCommand.Connection.Open();

this.theDataAdapter.Fill(this.theDataSet);

theSQLCommand.Connection.Close();

this.theDataGridView.DataSource = this.theDataSet.Tables[index].DefaultView;

this basically:

• creates the appropriate objects for carrying out a selection of records from the database

• fills the dataset with records from the given SqlCommand (object that contains our command to execute)

• binds the dataset to the datagridview